halestorm-01

Halestorm is an American hard rock band from Red Lion, PA, formed by siblings Lzzy Hale (vocals, guitars, keyboards, piano) and Arejay Hale (drums) in 1997. The line-up is completed by Joe Hottinger (lead guitar) and Josh Smith (bass). Halestorm signed with Atlantic Records in 2005 and have since released 3 studio albums, 1 live album, and 5 EPs. The band tours extensively and has shared stages with Seether, Shinedown, Disturbed, Trapt, Chevelle, Three Days Grace, Theory of a Deadman, Hellyeah, Avenged Sevenfold, Stone Sour, and more.

Selected discography:

Halestorm (2009). 11 tracks. Choice cuts: “I Get Off”, “Bet U Wish U Had Me Back”. Other good cuts: “It’s Not You”, “Familiar Taste of Poison”, “Innocence”, “I’m Not An Angel”, “Love / Hate Heartbreak”, “What Were You Expecting”, “Better Sorry Than Safe”,Dirty Work”, “Nothing To Do With Love”. Deluxe Edition bonus cuts: “Tell Me Where It Hurts”, “Conversation Over”, “Dirty Mind”.

Note: “Innocence” was co-written with Ben Moody [ex-Evanescence].

Live in Philly 2010 (2010). Live album. 12 tracks.

“Breaking Inside”Shinedown feat. Lzzy Hale (2010). This duet was included as a bonus track on the deluxe re-issue of Shinedown‘s 2008 album The Sound of Madness.

ReAniMate: The CoVeRs eP (2011). 6 tracks. Choice cuts: “Hunger Strike” [Temple of the Dog], “All I Wanna Do Is Make Love To You” [Heart]. Other good cuts: “Out Ta Get Me” [Guns N’ Roses], “Bad Romance” [Lady Gaga]. The rest: “Slave To The Grind” [Skid Row], “I Want You (She’s So Heavy)” [The Beatles].

The Strange Case of… (2012). 12 tracks. Choice cuts: “Love Bites (So Do I)”, “Mz. Hyde”, “I Miss the Misery”, “Freak Like Me”, “Here’s to Us”. Other good cuts: “Beautiful With You”, “Break In”, “In Your Room”, “American Boys”, “You Call Me a Bitch Like It’s a Bad Thing”, “Rock Show”, “Daughters of Darkness”. Deluxe Edition bonus cuts: “Private Parts” (feat. James Michael Of Sixx:A.M.), “Hate It When You See Me Cry”, “Don’t Know How To Stop”.

Notes: “Love Bites (So Do I)” won a Grammy Award for Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance in 2013. “Here’s To Us” (co-written with Danielle Brisebois) was performed on the Fox TV series Glee in 2012. “I Miss the Misery” was featured in the Bud Light “Friends Like This” TV commercial …

In the Live Room (2012). 6 tracks. Choice cut: “Empire State Of Mind” [Alicia Keys cover]. Recorded live in NYC 2012.

“Close My Eyes Forever”Device feat. Lzzy Hale (2013). This duet, a cover of the 1988 hit by Lita Ford & Ozzy Osbourne, was included on the debut album of Disturbed frontman David Draiman’s new industrial metal band Device.

ReAniMate 2.0: The CoVeRs eP (2013). 6 tracks. Choice cuts: “Hell is For Children” [Pat Benatar], “Gold Dust Woman” [Fleetwood Mac]. Other good cuts: “Dissident Aggressor” [Judas Priest], “Shoot To Thrill” [AC/DC], “Get Lucky” [Daft Punk], “1996” [Marilyn Manson].

“Shatter Me”Lindsey Stirling feat. Lzzy Hale (2014). This track was the 2nd single from the violinist/dancer’s 2nd album Shatter Me.

Into the Wild Life (2015) ). 13 tracks. Choice cuts: “Apocalyptic”, “Amen”. Other good cuts: “Dear Daughter”, “New Modern Love”, “Mayhem”, “What Sober Couldn’t Say”, “I Like It Heavy”, “Gonna Get Mine”, “The Reckoning”, “Bad Girls World”, “I Am the Fire”, “Scream”, “Sick Individual”. Deluxe Edition bonus cuts: “Unapologetic”, “Jump the Gun”.

“Gimme Shelter”Stone Sour feat. Lzzy Hale (2015). This cover of the 1969 song by The Rolling Stones is included on Stone Sour‘s second covers EP Straight Outta Burbank…

ReAniMate 3.0: The CoVeRs eP (2017). 6 tracks. Choice cuts: “Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover” [Sophie B. Hawkins], “I Hate Myself For Loving You” [Joan Jett], “Still of the Night” [Whitesnake], “Fell On Black Days” [Soundgarden], “Heathens” [Twenty One Pilots], “Ride The Lightning” [Metallica].

Selected videos:

Lzzy Hale has made Revolver magazine’s list of The 25 Hottest Chicks in Hard Rock in Nov/Dec 2011 (#2), Sep/Oct 2012 (#1), Feb/Mar 2014 (#2), and Feb/Mar 2015 (#1). Of course, she also writes an advice column for the magazine!

Band links: website / Facebook

My thoughts… I’ve been an obsessive fan of Halestorm since I first heard “Bet U Wish U Had Me Back” on the radio in 2010! I thought it was Kelly Clarkson rocking out! I declared The Strange Case of… my favorite album of 2012, and I saw Halestorm perform live on September 4, 2012 and on December 10, 2013, both at The House of Blues Cleveland. In addition, Lzzy Hale and I were born on the same day (October 10)! She’s much younger than me! My obsession waned with the release of Into the Wild Life. The album, for me, was disappointing especially compared to The Strange Case of… However, now, a few months later, I’m finally starting to appreciate Into the Wild Life. I’m not obsessive any more, but I’m still a big fan of Halestorm! And, I have high hopes for their 4th album!

ReAniMate 3.0: The CoVeRs eP is the best, overall, of Halestorm‘s covers EPs!

Read my original post on RCR (here). Read my related posts on MHE (here).

halestorm-03Bhalestorm-02B

