Dakota-Skye-poster-01

Dakota Skye (2008) is an independent drama directed by John Humber and written by Chad J. Shonk for Desert Skye Entertainment. Starring Eileen Boylan, Ian Nelson and J.B. Ghuman Jr.

Dakota Skye (Eileen Boylan) has a super power. She is cursed with the ability to see the truth in any lie she hears. Now seventeen, Dakota has become apathetic towards life – until Jonah (Ian Nelson) arrives and shows here there’s more to the world than just lies. If only he wasn’t her boyfriend’s best friend…

Girls, guns or zombies? “truth. lies. whatever.”

Rated R. 89 minutes. Watch the official trailer here …

Features music by The Mercy Kiss, Jonah Matranga and Joshua Radin. Features original songs by Bay Dariz, who was a founding member of The Mercy Kiss.

My thoughts… Dakota Skye is a brilliant independent film! I’ve watched it more times than I can even remember! I can’t explain it – something about this movie instantly struck a chord with me! I stumbled upon Dakota Skye purely by chance on a premium cable channel. I started watching 2o minutes in and, when it was over, I immediately went online and ordered the DVD. I couldn’t wait to see those first 20 minutes! Luckily, the movie was playing again that weekend, before my DVD was scheduled to arrive! I was not disappointed! Now, when I watch Dakota Skye, I feel like I’m catching up with an old friend, and it feels good.

I rambled on and on, for weeks, about Dakota Skye to my friends and family long before I ever started my first blog, but I only wrote one post online since. Read that post on MHE (here).

Dakota-Skye-poster-02

