suzi_rawn_canadian_idol_01B

Suzi Rawn is a Canadian pop/rock singer/songwriter from British Columbia who is best known for being the fourth place finalist on the third season of Canadian Idol in 2005. Pre-Idol, Rawn independently released a solo record and two albums with her band King Size Suzi. Post-Idol, Rawn hooked up with Canadian hard rockers Harem Scarem and released her major-label debut Naked (2006) on Sony BMG.

Selected discography:

Naked (2006). Sony BMG. 11 tracks. Choice cuts: “Naked”, “Raw”, “Bet U Like Me”, “Overrated”. Other good cuts: “Don’t Leave Me”, “Broken”, “It Was You”, “Don’t Come Easy”, “Understand You”, “Sorry For You”, “I Won’t Fall Apart”.

Note: “Don’t Come Easy” and “Understand You” were previously recorded by Harem Scarem for their album Overload (2005).

Selected videos:

Note: The band backing Suzi in the video above is not Harem Sacrem.

Watch Suzi Rawn perform “Fortunate Son” (Creedence Clearwater Revival) live on Canadian Idol (here), and listen to Rawn‘s studio version of that song (here).

My thoughts… Suzi Rawn‘s Naked is one of my all-time favorite albums! This fact is obvious since I’ve shared my love for this album, now, on all three of my blogs! On Naked, Rawn sounds like Kelly Clarkson (circa 2004) meets Daughtry (circa 2006). The album is an awesome set of hook-heavy pop/rock that is both hard-edged and radio-ready, with Rawn‘s pristine, powerful vocals perfectly matched against de facto Harem Scarem‘s crunchy riffs and pounding backbeats!

But, I’ve said this all before – twice!

Read my original post on RCR (here) and my revised post on MHE (here).

suzi_rawn_naked_cover_01B

