Scouts_Guide_still_01

Scouts Guide to the Zombie Apocalypse (2015) is an American horror/comedy directed by Christopher Landon for Broken Road Productions. Story by Carrie Evans, Emi Mochizuki and Lona Williams. Screenplay by Carrie Evans, Emi Mochizuki and Christopher Landon. Starring Tye Sheridan, David Koechner, Cloris Leachman, Halston Sage, Logan Miller, Joey Morgan, and Sarah Dumont.

Three scouts and lifelong friends join forces with one badass cocktail waitress to become the world’s most unlikely team of heroes. When their peaceful town is ravaged by a zombie invasion, they’ll fight for the badge of a lifetime and put their scouting skills to the test to save mankind from the undead.

Rated R. 93 minutes. Watch the official trailer here …

Watch the exclusive red band trailer here …

Film links: website/Facebook

My thoughts… Some say that the zombie genre is played out. I kind of agree but I really don’t care. I love zombie movies – especially zombie comedies! The last great zom-com I saw was Zombieland (2009). I’ve seen a lot of really good zom-coms since then, like Cockneys vs Zombies (2012), Kill Zombie! (2012), etc, but nothing quite as awesome as Zombieland. I had high hopes for Scouts Guide to the Zombie Apocalypse when I first saw the trailer back in October but, alas, I was let down when I finally watched it on demand this weekend. Scouts Guide is not a great zom-com – it’s just another good zom-com! The film definitely earns its rating by delivering plenty of gore, zombie mayhem, raunchy humor, and even nudity! The characters are all very likable, too, but Scouts Guide doesn’t really offer anything new to the genre. It’s just good R-rated zombie fun! I loved the discovery of the zombie cats at Ms. Fielder’s house and the carnage at the rec center! Oh, and Halston Sage, who plays Carter’s sister and Ben’s crush Kendall, is adorable!

Scouts_Guide_promo_01Scouts_Guide_poster_01B

