paramore-01

Paramore is an American rock band from Franklin, Tennessee, formed in 2004. The band currently is Hayley Williams (vocals) and Taylor York (guitars). Founding members Josh Farro (lead guitar) and Zac Farro (drums) left on bad terms in 2010, while Jeremy Davis (drums) departed, on good terms, in December 2015. Paramore plays a mix of pop/punk, alternative rock, pop/rock and power pop.

On February 8, 2015, Paramore‘s song “Ain’t It Fun” won the Grammy Award for Best Rock Song at the 57th ceremony. It was Paramore‘s first Grammy win, making Hayley Williams the first woman to score that honor since Alanis Morissette won for her song “Uninvited” in 1999.

Selected discography:

paramore-cover-2005-2013

All We Know Is Falling (2005). Fueled by Ramen. 10 tracks. Choice cuts: “All We Know”, “Pressure”, “Emergency”. Other good cuts: “Conspiracy”, “Let This Go”, “Brighter”, “Whoa”, “Franklin”, “My Heart”, “Here We Go Again”.

Riot! (2007). Fueled by Ramen. 11 tracks. Choice cuts: “Misery Business”, “That’s What You Get”, “Hallelujah”, “Crushcrushcrush”. Other good cuts: “When It Rains”, “For A Pessimist, I’m Pretty Optimistic”, “We Are Broken”, “Miracle”. The rest: “Let The Flames Begin”, “Fences”, “Born For This”.

“Decode” (2008). Featured on the soundtrack for the film Twilight.

Brand New Eyes (2009). Fueled by Ramen. 11 tracks. Choice cuts: “The Only Exception”, “Ignorance”, “Brick by Boring Brick”, “Playing God”, “Careful”. Other good cuts: “Turn It Off”, “Feeling Sorry”, “All I Wanted”. The rest: “Where The Lines Overlap”, “Looking Up”, “Misguided Ghosts”.

“Airplanes” (2010) – B.o.B feat. Hayley Williams.

“Monster” (2011). Featured on the soundtrack to the film Transformers: Dark of the Moon. Released as a digital single by Paramore.

Paramore (2013). Fueled by Ramen. 17 tracks. Choice cuts: “Ain’t It Fun”, “Now”, “Daydreaming”, “Anklebiters”, “Still Into You”. Other good cuts: “Be Alone”, “Future”, “Part II”, “Last Hope”, “Grow Up”, “Proof”, “(One of Those) Crazy Girls”, “Fast In My Car”, “Hate to See Your Heart Break” (feat. Joy Williams). The rest: “Interlude: Moving On”, “Interlude: Holiday”, “Interlude: I’m Not Angry Anymore”.

“Stay the Night” (2013) – Zedd feat. Hayley Williams.

Selected videos:

Band links: website/Facebook

My thoughts… Paramore is arguably one of the most influential female-fronted rock bands of the past ten years and, by all rights, I should be one of their biggest fans! However, I’ve never been more than just a casual fan ever since I first heard “That’s What You Get” back in 2008. I have all of Paramore‘s albums in my music library but I seem to be drawn more to the many lesser known bands influenced by Paramore than to the band itself! I really tried to embrace Paramore‘s music when Brand New Eyes was released in 2009 but, like their previous two albums, the hooks just didn’t stick and I moved on. I liked “Ain’t It Fun”, from their latest release, when it was being played all over the radio in 2014, and I downloaded the album but never  listened to more than just that song. Then, a few days ago, I took my daughter Gaby and her friend Julia bowling. One of the videos that played on the big screens above the lanes was for Paramore‘s “The Only Exception”. I don’t remember hearing that song when I listened to Brand New Eyes and I didn’t even know that it was the band’s biggest hit prior to “Ain’t It Fun”, but I listened to it – in awe! “The Only Exception” forsakes the band’s signature pop/punk for a melancholic acoustic sound similar to Mazzy Star‘s “Fade Into You”. It’s such a sadly beautiful ballad! So, later that night, I listened again to Brand New Eyes and, surprisingly, the hooks started to stick! Then, I listened again to Riot!! and All We Know Is Falling, and I kept hearing song after awesome song and I couldn’t help but wonder how I could have missed them for so long! I listened to Paramore all the next day while I worked from home and, eventually, their self-titled latest album – the first since Josh and Zac Farro departed – finally stuck, too! I was, in fact, becoming one of Paramore‘s biggest fans! The truth is, though, that this kind of thing happens often to me. In 2012, it happened with Evanescence. In 2013, it was Joan Jett. And, in 2014, it was Sick Puppies. So, I was about due for another revelation!

Oh, and Hayley Williams has never looked more adorable than she does in the video for “That’s What You Get”! Of course, she was only like 19 or something!

My daughter, by the way, isn’t a Paramore fan at all. I tried to change her mind by informing her that Paramore is on the same label (Fueled by Ramen) as one of her favorite bands, Twenty One Pilots. It didn’t work.

paramore-02paramore-03paramore-04-Hayley-Williams

