HyFY was a female-fronted Brazilian pop/rock band from São Paulo formed in 2005 by Hellen Zanovello (vocals) and Marcus Maia (guitar). HyFY released their debut album Ponto Inicial in 2009, and disbanded shortly after. Hellen Zanovello was urged by fans to reform the band in 2011. Highly recommended for fans of Fake Number, Belle, CW7, etc.

Selected discography:

Ponto Inicial (2009). 12 tracks. Choice cuts: “Outro Lugar”, “Acredite em Mim”, “Dessa Vez”, “Melhor Assim”, “Não Perdemos Nada”, “Promessas”, “Me Encontrar”, “Quando Quiser”, “Pra Sempre Agora”, “Que Seja!”, “Seguir Sozinha”, “Ponto Inicial”.

Selected videos:

Band links: MySpace/Twitter/OneMusic

Watch a teaser on Vimeo for the re-formed HyFY (here).

My thoughts… I discovered Brazilian rock music in the summer of 2012. São Paulo’s Fake Number quickly became my favorite band and so, as such, I started to embrace other bands that played Fake Number‘s same brand of Paramore-inspired punky pop/rock. HyFY is one of the best of those bands and, like Belle, they came, they played, and they disbanded – leaving only one [amazing!] album! If you own Ponto Inicial, you will note that my choice cuts above are in the album’s track list order. It’s great from beginning to end!