utopians-argentina-01

Utopians are an Argentine punk/garage/alternative rock band from Buenos Aires, formed in 2005. They are Bárbara Recanati (vocals/guitar), Mario Romero (bass), Tomás Molina Lera (drums), and Gustavo Fiocchi (guitar). Tomás Molina Lera replaced co-founder Larry Fus in 2014. Utopians are influenced by American artists such as Talking Heads, Iggy Pop, Patti Smith, Television, and others. They are also influenced by British artists such as Joy Division, Siouxsie and the Banshees, The Cure, The Jesus and Mary Chain, etc.

Selected discography:

Inhuman (2008). 11 tracks. Choice cut: “Norman Bates”. The rest: “2007”, “Game”, “Inhuman”, “Funny thing”, “Jamie”, “Something”, “Lies”, “Flaneur”, “Manhattan Hole”, “W.E.B”.

Freak (2010). 11 tracks. Choice cuts: “Say hello”, “Come baby”, “Allá voy”. Other good cuts: “Ganja”, “Make you”, “Leaving you”, “Go on”, “Estallando desde el océano”, “Ruta”. The rest: “Tan buena”, “Pepe Le Pew”.

Note: “Estallando desde el océano” is a cover of a 1986 song by Argentine rock band Sumo.

Trastornados (2012). 11 tracks. Choice cuts: “Trastornados”, “Esas cosas”, “Gris”, “Estación”. Other good cuts: “Como perder”, “Dinamita”, “Cenizas”, “Muertos vivos”, “Me voy”, “No estamos mal”, “Nunca es hoy”.

Vándalo (2014). 11 tracks. Choice cuts: “Algo mejor”, “Desde lejos”, “Nada bueno”, “A veces”. Other good cuts: “Fue por vos”, “Donde nadie te espera”, “Atrás”, “Quiero”, “Con nada”, “Entre luces”, “Días de calor”.

Selected videos:

utopians-argentina-02

Band links: website/Facebook/Youtube

My thoughts… So my recent re-discovery of Argentine alternative rock band Cirse has revitalized my obsession with female-empowered Latin rock music! Utopians, also from Argentina, is a new discovery – an unexpected gem hidden [from me!] 5,550 miles away! Utopians kick out a gritty mix of garage rock, indie rock, punk rock, and alternative rock over which Bárbara Recanati’s nasally vocals deliver an extra punch! I love this band! However, if I had listened Utopians‘ debut album Inhuman first, I probably wouldn’t be saying that! Inhuman is good but it’s the weakest, by far, of the band’s four releases to date. I would’ve filed that album away and moved on. Luckily, I started with Utopians‘ amazing 3rd album Trastornados followed by their awesome 4th album Vándalo! Now I am the band’s new biggest fan! Trastornados is my favorite album [but only marginally over Vándalo] while Vándalo has my favorite song – “Algo mejor”! I love all the airplane movie references in that video! I also love the spaghetti western vibe of  “Desde lejos” and its horror-themed animated video! Oh, and Utopians‘ 2nd album Freak, which delivers a rawer garage punk sound, is fantastic, too! Their 5th album, by simple logic, should be released in 2016 and consist of 11 tracks. I can’t wait!

utopians-argentina-03

