nikki-clan-01

Nikki Clan is a Mexican pop/rock band from Nogales, Sonora and Mexicali, Baja California, formed in 2005 by producer Abelardo Vázquez. They are Yadira Gianola (vocals), Alberto Espinosa (bass), José Antonio Dabdoub (guitar), Ángel Yáñez (guitar), and José Carlos Fausto Monroy (drums). Nikki Clan‘s name is taken from one of Gianola‘s idols – Mötley Crüe bassist Nikki Sixx.

Selected discography:

Nikki Clan (2006). 12 tracks. Choice “Mírame (Look at me)”, “Qué más da (Whatever happens now)”, “Corazón abierto (Open heart)”. Other good cuts: “Dímelo a mí (Tell me)”, “Dame un día más (Give me one more day)”, “No te amo (I don’t love you)”, “Te siento (I feel you)”, “A mi lado (By my side)”, “No me digas que no (Don’t tell me no)”, “Grita y llora (Scream and Cry)”, “Cómo me dejas así (How you leave me like this)”, “Celos (Jealous)”. Choice bonus tracks: “Niñas mal (Bad girls)”, “No quiero verte (I don’t want to see you)”.

Note: “Niñas mal (Bad girls)” was featured in the film Niñas Mal (2007).

No Será Igual (2008). 12 tracks. Choice cuts: “Las Curvas De Esa chica (This Chick’s Curves)”, “Después De Todo (After Everything)”. Other good cuts: “Yo No Te Puedo Olvidar (I Can’t Forget You)”, “Pensando en ti (Thinking about you)”, “Solo para mí (Only mine)”, “No Sabes Dar Amor (You Don’t Know How to Give Love)”, “Te Quiero Tanto (I Want You So Much)”, “Ya No Tengas Miedo (Don’t Be Afraid)”, “Esta noche te voy a besar (This night I’m going to kiss you)”, “No Será Igual (It Won’t Be The Same)”, “Cuando (When)”, “Sin Ti (Without You)”. Bonus track: “Hey Nikkers”.

Selected videos:

My thoughts… Nikki Clan was my first taste of female-fronted Mexican rock music. I was, initially, drawn to frontwoman Yadira Gianola but ended up hooked by her band’s melodic mix of pop/rock, power pop and hard rock. Nikki Clan sounds nothing like Mötley Crüe. They do sound like Daughtry if you can imagine Chris Daughtry as a beautiful Mexican girl. This works best with the song “Qué más da (Whatever happens now)”. Nikki Clan, apparently, was signed to a five-album deal with Sony BMG. However, only the two albums above have been released and eight years have since passed since the second one!

nikki-clan-03bnikki-clan-02b

