cherri-bomb-01B

Cherri Bomb was an all-female American alternative rock band from Los Angeles, California formed in 2008. They were Julia Pierce (lead vocals/lead guitar), Miranda Miller (rhythm guitar/keyboard/vocals), Nia Lovelis (drums/vocals), and Rena Lovelis (lead vocals/ bass). Cherri Bomb released their debut studio album This Is the End of Control in 2012 on Hollywood Records. In 2013, Julia Pierce departed and was replaced by Casey Moreta on lead guitar. In 2015, the band changed their name to Hey Violet and later on signed to Hi or Hey Records. Cherri Bomb is recommended for fans of Foo Fighters.

Selected discography:

Stark (2011). EP. 5 tracks. Choice cuts: “Let It Go”. Other good cuts: “Already Dead”, “The Pretender”, “Spin”, “Mirror Mirror”.

Note: “The Pretender” is a cover of the 2007 Foo Fighters song.

This Is the End of Control (2012). 12 tracks. Choice cuts: “Better This Way”, “Too Many Faces”, “Raw. Real.”. Other good cuts: “Act the Part”, “Heart is a Hole”, “Shake the Ground”, “Sacrificial Lamb”, “Drawing a Blank”, “Hold On”. The rest: “Take This Now (Intro)”, “Let It Go”, “Paper Doll”.

Notes: “Let It Go” is carried over from the Stark EP. “Shake the Ground” was featured on the The Avengers soundtrack.

Selected videos:

My thoughts… Last summer, my daughter went to see 5 Seconds of Summer with her mother. After the show, she said, “Dad, you would’ve loved the opening band Hey Violet! There were three girls!” She, of course, knows that I love girls who rock. So I checked out Hey Violet online and found that they were previously known as Cherri Bomb. “I know this band!” I told my daughter, excited. “I posted about them on my other blog in 2013. They released an EP and an album, then the lead singer left, she was replaced by a guy and they changed their name – and their sound!” Hey Violet plays teen pop/punk that’s perfect for fans of 5SOS – like my daughter. The average age of Hey Violet members is 19, so it makes sense. However, Cherri Bomb played mature alternative rock heavily influenced by Foo Fighters and the band members’ average age, back in 2012, was 14! Cherri Bomb‘s hard-rocking sound belied their youth! Instead of fawning over One Direction, they worshipped at the feet of Dave Grohl – especially in songs like “Better This Way” and “Raw. Real.” (from This is the End of Control) and “Already Dead” and “Let It Go” (from Stark). Oh, and they actually cover Foo Fighters“The Pretender” on Stark! Even though Cherri Bomb‘s biggest influence was obvious, the girls pulled it off. Their age, gender and attitude made their recycled sound seem fresh, and This is the End of Control is a fantastic album as proof! I love Cheri Bomb‘s alt-rock but Hey Violet‘s pop/punk is way too poppy for me. My daughter, on the other hand, loves Hey Violet but hasn’t embraced Cherri Bomb despite my efforts to sway her judgement! Of course, I don’t think she’s ever even listened to a Foo Fighters song!

Read my original post on RCR (here).

cherri-bomb-06cherri-bomb-03Bcherri-bomb-04B

