“With our hoods up and hearts out …”

Cimorelli-01

Cimorelli is an all-female vocal group from Sacramento, CA. They are the Cimorelli sisters: Christina (25), Katherine (24), Lisa (22), Amy (20), Lauren (17), and Dani (15)*. They started in 2007 by posting (mostly a cappella) covers of popular songs on Youtube and have since self-released five EPs. Cimorelli‘s debut album Up At Night was released on May 17, 2016 via PledgeMusic.

* The girls’ ages are as of the date of this post.

Cimorelli-03

Selected discography:

“You’re Worth It” (2014). From the Renegades EP.

Up At Night (2016). 14 tracks. Choice cuts: “Fall Back”, “I’m a Mess”, “Hearts On Fire”. Other good cuts: “Up At Night”, “Before October’s Gone”, “Easy to Forget Me”, “Sunsets and Heartbreak”, “Headlights”, “Brave Heart”, “I Like It”, “Acid Rain”, “Make It Stronger”, “I Know You Know It”, “Worth the Fight”.

Selected videos:

Artist links: website/Facebook/Youtube

My thoughts… On Up At Night, Cimorelli reminds me of a pop/country version of pop/rockers Everlife (post-Disney) except with twice as many sisters. Or maybe even like Taylor Swift with six times as many sisters. Up At Night delivers 14 catchy original tunes about young love and heartbreak driven by melody, harmony and six angelic voices! Up At Night is so insanely addictive that I’ve been listening to this album nonstop for three days! Guilty pleasures be damned – Up At Night is a near perfect pop/country gem! It’s my favorite album of the year (this week)!

I listened to Cimorelli‘s preceding EPs but I wasn’t quite as impressed. Up At Night is a much more mature effort. However, “You’re Worth It”, from Cimorelli‘s fourth EP Renegade, wouldn’t have been out of place on their debut, so I downloaded it and added it to mine! My appreciation of Cimorelli starts with Up At Night and, now, I can’t wait to hear what’s next! I am their new biggest fan!

Cimorelli-02

Oh, and is it just me or does Christina Cimorelli kind of resemble Mia Wicthoff of Brazilian pop/rockers CW7? They’re both so adorable! You decide …

Christina-Cimorelli-Mia-Wicthoff-01

Christina Cimorelli / Mia Wicthoff

Watch this video (here). Or just watch any video from both bands for more proof! I think it’s in their beautiful eyes and their killer smiles.

