we-are-the-in-crowd-02

We Are The In Crowd is a pop/punk band from Poughkeepsie, New York, formed in 2009. They are Taylor “Tay” Jardine (vocals), Jordan Eckes (guitar, vocals), Cameron Hurley (guitar), Mike Ferri (bass), and Rob Chianelli (drums). We Are The In Crowd is highly recommended for fans of Paramore, Tonight Alive, All Time Low, Mayday Parade, Cartel, etc. In February 2016, the band went on hiatus while Jardine, with Hurley and Ferri, started a new project called SAINTE.

Selected discography:

watic_album-art

Guaranteed to Disagree (2010). Hopeless Records. EP. 7 tracks. Choice cuts: “Never Be What You Want” (feat. Will Pugh of Cartel on guest vocals), “Both Sides Of The Story”, “Lights Out”. Other good cuts: “Carry Me Home”, “We Need A Break”, “For The Win”, “Calendar Pages”.

“Never Be What You Want” (Acoustic version) (2011). Featured on the compilation Love Is Hopeless.

“Lights Out” (Acoustic version) (2011). Featured on the compilation Another Hopeless Summer 2011.

Best Intentions (2011). Hopeless Records. 10 tracks. Choice cuts: “Rumor Mill”, “You’ve Got It Made”, “Kiss Me Again”, “All or Nothing”. Other awesome cuts: “On Your Own”, “Exits and Entrances”, “See You Around”. Other good cuts: “The Worst Thing About Me”, “This Isn’t Goodbye, It’s BRB”, “Better Luck Next Time”. The iTunes edition includes 4 exclusive bonus tracks. Choice bonus cut: “Kiss Me Again” (feat. Alex Gaskarth of All Time Low on vocals). Other good bonus cuts: “Rumor Mill” (Acoustic version), “Grenade” (Bruno Mars cover), “On My Way” (Demo).

Note: “Grenade” is also featured on Love Is Hopeless 2013.

“Finite” (2012) – A Loss For Words (feat. Tay Jardine). Featured on the A Loss For Words EP Returning To Webster Lake.

“Electric” (2012) – Heroes and Underdogs (feat. Tay Jardine). Featured on the Heroes and Underdogs EP That’s My Name, Don’t Wear It Out!

“Here I Am Alive” (2012) – Yellowcard (feat. Tay Jardine). Featured as the second single from Yellowcard‘s eighth studio album Southern Air. “Telescope”, from the same album, also features Tay Jardine, with Alex Gaskarth and Cassadee Pope, on backing vocals.

“Reality Check” (2012) – Visions (feat. Tay Jardine).

“I Hope You Know” (2013) – Plug In Stereo (feat. Tay Jardine). Featured on the compilation Take Action: Volume 11. Also featured on Plug In Stereo‘s 2014 self-titled album

“Just Give Me a Reason” (2013) – Alex Goot (feat. We Are The In Crowd). A cover of the song originally by Pink (feat. Nate Reuss). Featured on the album Alex Goot & Friends: Volume 3 (2014)

“Sic Transit Gloria…Glory Fades” (2013). A cover of the song originally by New York emo band Brand New.

Weird Kids (2014). Hopeless Records. 10 tracks. Choice cuts: “Manners”, “Come Back Home”, “The Best Thing (That Never Happened)”, “Attention”, “Long Live the Kids”, “Windows in Heaven”. Other awesome cuts: “Reflections”, “Don’t You Worry”, “Remember (To Forget You)”, “Dreaming Out Loud”. The Best Buy edition includes 2 exclusive bonus tracks. Choice bonus cuts: “Perfect Reason”, “Waiting”.

Selected videos:

we-are-the-in-crowd-01

Check out more video goodness on YouTube (here/here).

My thoughts… We Are the In Crowd writes songs about love and relationships [in decline, mostly] in which adorably cute vocalist Tay takes the female perspective [obviously] and guitarist/vocalist Jordan responds from a male perspective like a dialogue telling, as the title of their own song suggests, “both sides of the story.” I don’t typically like bands with male/female vocals but with Tay and Jordan, it works quite well for me. The beauty in WATIC‘s music is that the pain and anger is often hidden under bouncy pop melodies and insanely catchy hooks. They sound happy to be be heartbroken. “You’re not quite Satan but I really think I hate you!” Tay (almost) snarls in “Both Sides of the Story”. But, in “The Best Thing (That Never Happened)”, she warns “You’ll crack just like all the rest when I break your fucking jaw!” before jumping into that song’s toe-tapping chorus! I think Tay Jardine might just be too adorable to deliver gritty punk “snot”-itude! But that’s OK – I like her just how she is! Oh, and I love the video for “The Best Thing (That Never Happened)”!

I discovered WATIC shortly after Best Intentions was released. I listened to that album so much that, eventually, it started to sound like a greatest hits collection. I didn’t even give Weird Kids a fair shot until recently! Now, Weird Kids is my favorite of the two albums! However, “You’ve Got It Made” (from Best Intentions) is still my favorite song, followed by “Come Back Home” (from Weird Kids)! After that, well, my favorites change each time I listen and I’ve been listening a lot lately!

WATIC played the Vans Warped Tour in 2010, 2012 and 2014. I mention this because my 13-year-old daughter loves a lot Warped Tour alumni bands like Sleeping With Sirens, Bring Me the Horizon and Pierce the Veil – as do I. However, she hasn’t embraced any of the female-fronted bands like Paramore, Tonight Alive and, of course, We Are The In Crowd. She’s never even heard anything by the latter two bands, but I know she’d love WATIC if she gave them a chance. I had to prove it to her. So, one day, when I picked her up from school, I had “Lights Out” playing. I figured that one was the most like the music she listens to. Before we even left the parking lot, she asked who I was listening to. I told her. She said “This sounds like something I would listen to.” Of course it does! Is it weird that I have to introduce my daughter to her generation’s bands? I actually introduced her to Bring Me the Horizon whom she loves! She only knew the song “Drown” because 5 Seconds of Summer did a live acoustic cover of it! Anyway …

Tay Jardine’s new project SAINTE will focus on her vocals alone which is awesome because she has an amazing voice. However, SAINTE will also embrace a more pop-influenced sound which, for me, isn’t quite as awesome. I don’t really like pop. However, SAINTE‘s debut single “Technicolor” still kind of rocks, so I’m excited to hear more! Plus, Tay Jardine is still adorable! So, there’s that.

we-are-the-in-crowd-03bwe-are-the-in-crowd-05we-are-the-in-crowd-04b

Oh, and this (here) is my favorite photo of Tay Jardine!

But, I like this one (here), too!

And, this one (here)! She’s showing a little bit of punk “snot”-itude in that one!

