“The Dead Rise… From Down Under!”

me-my-mates-zombie-apocalypse-poster-01

Me and My Mates vs. the Zombie Apocalypse (2015) is an Australian zombie comedy written & directed by Declan Schrubb. Starring Alex Williamson, Greg Fleet, Jim Jefferies, Adele Vuko, Andy Trieu, and Matt Popp. The film was financed via an Indigogo crowd-funding campaign.

Attempting to escape the zombie apocalypse, Darryl (Alex Williamson) and a misfit group of Aussie telecom workers get trapped in an abandoned satellite control center with their blundering bosses Roy (Greg Fleet) and Joel (Jim Jefferies). Though zombies are decimating the country, Darryl continues nagging his employees to let him join their prestigious indoor cricket team. But two things stand in his way… the blood thirsty zombies and the fact that Darryl has killed Roy’s undead wife and slept with his daughter Emma (Adele Vuko). Things go from bad to worse to just plain knockout hilarious when the dead rise… from Down Under!

Not Rated. 90 minutes. Watch the trailer here…

me-my-mates-zombie-apocalypse-still-01

Emma (Adele Vuko) and Darryl (Alex Williamson) contemplating having sex.

Film links: website/Facebook/YouTube

My thoughts… A few months ago, I purchased DVD copy of the Australian zom-com Me and My Mates vs. the Zombie Apocalypse at Wal-Mart for a mere $5.00 based on the title alone. I wanted to like the film especially since it featured the very funny Aussie comedian Jim Jefferies. However, I was disappointed. The only thing I really liked about the film was Adele Vuko. Then, the other day, I watched and loved the Austrian zom-com Attack of the Lederhosen Zombies and, for some reason, I thought of Me and My Mates vs. the Zombie Apocalypse. So, I watched it again and, surprisingly, I loved it! I don’t know what I missed the first time around but this movie is awesome! In fact, Me and My Mates vs. the Zombie Apocalypse delivered exactly what its crowd-funding campaign promised: “Aussie tradies, zombies, a shotgun, a cricket bat, sex, blood and a whole lotta fun!” Alex Williamson was hysterical as dim-witted stoner Darryl. He has all the best lines. I love that he’s confused about all the animal idioms everyone keeps using! However, Jim Jefferies was – spoiler alert! – killed off way too soon! Of course, Adele Vuko, for me, is still the best part of Me and My Mates vs. the Zombie Apocalypse. She is soooo adorable – and pretty bad-ass with a pair of gardening shears! Oh, and if you have the DVD, check out the “Adele vs Andy” bonus feature.

adele-vuko-01

Adele Vuko

me-my-mates-zombie-apocalypse-poster-02

