Don’t Look at the Mirror [aka No mires el espejo] (2016) is a short Mexican horror film written and directed Priscilla Grijalva for Banana Media. Starring Lucero Fernandez, Ana Pratt, Clara Peralta, and Arnett Marcial.

Not rated. 8:24 run time.

My thoughts… Cute Mexican girls and scary ghosts! The concept of Don’t Look at the Mirror is nothing new. It’s a twist on the Bloody Mary urban legend with the inevitable jump scare but it works – and it looks great. Oh, and Lucero Fernandez (Julia) is soooo adorable – especially with the lights on! She reminded me of American actress America Ferrera and Ferrera is on my free pass list – except in my version we end up falling madly in love with each other. So, maybe it’s not really a free pass. Anyway, is it just me or, at the 4:00 minute mark just before Julia turns away from the mirror, did anybody else think that something more, umm, erotic was going on? Yeah, it’s probably just me.

dont-look-at-the-mirror-01 dont-look-at-the-mirror-02 dont-look-at-the-mirror-03

