The Dollyrots are an American pop/punk band based in Los Angeles, CA. They are Kelly Ogden (vocals/bass) and Luis Cabezas (guitar/vocals). The Dollyrots had a mainstream breakthrough in 2007 when their song “Because I’m Awesome” was featured in a back-to-school commercial for Kohl’s department stores (here). The band appears, briefly, in the 30-second spot and, since then, their music has been featured in dozens of films and TV shows, like Bring It On: Fight to the Finish, Easy A, Disney’s Brave, ABC Family’s GRΣΣK, ABC’s Ugly Betty, The CW’s The Vampire Diaries, and more. The Dollyrots play addictive pop/punk highlighted by the duo’s witty lyrics and Kelly Ogden’s snotty but sugary sweet vocals!

The Dollyrots were signed to Joan Jett‘s Blackheart Records in 2006 and released two albums on that label. They left in 2011 to start their own Arrested Youth Records whose releases are financed via crowd-funding campaigns.

In 2006, The Dollyrots appeared on an episode of CBS’ drama series CSI:NY as members of a fictional indie rock band called Rough Sects. In 2007, The Dollyrots appeared as themselves performing “Because I’m Awesome” on ABC Family’s TV series GRΣΣK. Then, in 2014, The Dollyrots appeared again as themselves in the [awesome!] lesbian musical comedy GIRLTRASH: All Night Long, while Kelly Ogden was featured as a skanky bitch version of herself. They performed their song “Pour Tour Jours” (from A Littled Messed Up).

Girls, guns or zombies? Adorable punk rock girls, Converse and bass guitars!

Selected discography:

Eat My Heart Out (2004). Debut. 13 tracks. Lookout Records. Choice cuts: “Kick Me To The Curb”, “Love You Most”, “New College”. Other awesome cuts: “Nobody Else”, “Wreckage”, “Feed Me, Pet Me”, “Skinny”, “Be My Baby”, “Goodnight Tonight”, “Promised Call”, “Penny”, “Jackie Chan”, “Dance With Me”. Good bonus tracks: “Alpha Mansion”, “Little Black Book”, “This Crush”.

Note: “Be My Baby” is a punky cover of the 1963 pop hit by The Ronettes. “This Crush” was re-recorded for Because I’m Awesome.

Because I’m Awesome (2007). 13 tracks. Blackheart Records debut. Choice cuts: “Because I’m Awesome”, “My Best Friend’s Hot”, “Out of L.A.”, “Brand New Key”. Other awesome cuts: “Hysteria”, “A Desperate S.O.S.”, “Watch Me Go (Kissed Me, Killed Me)”, “This Crush”, “17”, “Nobody Wants U”, “Turn You Down”, “Cat Calling”, “Tummy Tum Tum”. Good bonus tracks: “Rebel Angel”, “Boom Boom”.

Note: “Brand New Key” is a punky cover of the 1971 pop hit by Melanie.

“Santa Baby” (2009). A punky cover of Eartha Kitt‘s sultry holiday classic. From the compilation A Blackheart Christmas.

“Bad Reputation” (2009). A cover of Joan Jett‘s iconic track. From the soundtrack to the film Endless Bummer. Watch the trailer (here).

A Little Messed Up (2010). 13 tracks. Blackheart Records. Choice cuts: “My Heart Explodes”, “A Little Messed Up”, “Rock Control”, “Some Girls”, “Rollercoaster”. Other awesome cuts: “California Beach Boy”, “California”, “Let’s Be In Love”, “Just Like Chocolate”, “Coming After You”, “Big Mouth”, “Om Nom Nom”, “Pour Tous Jours”. Good bonus tracks: “Happy Together”, “Dream Lover”. Awesome B-side: “Dumb”.

Notes: “Happy Together” is a cover of the 1967 hit by The Turtles. “Dream Lover” is a cover of the 1959 hit by Bobby Darin.

“Messed Up Xmas” (2010). An original digital Christmas single.

The Dollyrots vs. Bowling for Soup (2011). Split EP. 4 tracks. The Dollyrots cover Bowling For Soup‘s “High School Never Ends” and “Almost”, while Bowling for Soup cover The Dollyrots“Because I’m Awesome” and “Rollercoaster”.

Arrested Youth (2011). EP. 3 tracks. Arrested Youth Records. Choice cut: “Playing With Fire”. Other good cuts: “Interaction”, “Free At Last”.

“Super Mega Ultraviolet” (2012). Featured on the Crappy Records compilation Have a Crappy Summer.

The Dollyrots (2012). 13 tracks. Arrested Youth Records. Choice cuts: “I Wanna Go”, “Twist Me to the Left”, “Hyperactive”, “Satellite”. Other awesome cuts: “Starting Over Again”, “So Wrong It’s Right”, “Time Will Stop”, “F U Famous”, “Pretty on the Outside”, “After 2012”, “Starting Over”, “South of the Border”. The rest: “Because I’m Awesome (2012)”.

Note: “F U Famous” was co-written with Letters To Cleo‘s Kay Hanley and Michael Eisenstein.

“Just Like All the Rest” (2012). Featured on the split album One Big Happy on which The Dollyrots, Bowling For Soup and Patent Pending each contributed a cover of a song from the other two bands as well as one new song. The Dollyrots covered “The Bitch Song” by Bowling For Soup and “Little Miss Impossible” by Patent Pending. In addition, The Dollyrots‘ Kelly Ogden and Bowling For Soup‘s Jaret Reddick also collaborated on the final track “Love Ya, Love Ya, Love Ya”.

“Because I’m Santa” (2012). An original digital Christmas single [“Because I’m Awesome” with new lyrics].

“Valentine’s Day” (2013). An original digital non-album single.

Love Songs, Werewolves, & Zombies (2013). 15 tracks. Digital-only acoustic album originally for PledgeMusic supporters. Arrested Youth Records. Choice cuts: “Anarchy and Disney”, “Rather Be a Zombie”, “Won’t Let Go”, “Another Door is Opening”. Other good cuts: “Punk Rock Werewolf”, “Hyperactive (Acoustic)”, “Be My Leia”, “Emo Cthulhu”, “$100 Milf”, “U.S.S.A.”, “Keeping Up With Barry”, “Kari Equals Hottie”, “Where Is Johnny Retsched”, “Smile Smile Smile”, “To The Moon”. CD version released in early 2014.

“I Saw Mommy Biting Santa Claus” (2013). An original digital Christmas single.

Barefoot and Pregnant (2014). 13 tracks. Arrested Youth Records. Choice cuts: “Come And Get It”, “First World Anarchist”, “Get Weird”. Other awesome cuts:  “Puppy Dog Eyes”, “Stupidly In Love”, “Homecoming”, “Angel In Snow”, “Worstie”, “Barefoot and Pregnant”, “Bury Me in Ireland”, “Nightlight”, “Under the Same Sky”, “Da Doo Ron Ron/I Wanna Be Sedated”.

Note: “Da Doo Ron Ron/I Wanna Be Sedated” is a punky medley of the 1963 pop hit by The Crystals and the 1979 punk classic by the Ramones.

“Punk Rock Girls” (2014). A cover of the song originally by The Queers. Released as a digital single.

“Let’s Turkey Trot” (2014). An original holiday digital single.

“Come Out And Play” (2015). A cover of the 1994 hit by The Offspring. Released as a digital single.

“Rock and Roll All Night” (2015). A cover of the 1975 hit by KISS. Featured on the all-female KISS tribute album Kiss & Makeup.

“Run Run Rudolph” (2015). A cover of the song originally recorded by Chuck Berry in 1958. Released as a digital single.

“Be My Leia (Electric)” (2015). A digital single.

Mama’s Gonna Knock You Out (2016). EP. 3 tracks. Arrested Youth Records. Choice cut: “Save Me”. Other good cuts: “Little Medusa”, “Sweet Hug My Love”.

Family Vacation: Live in Los Angeles (2016). The Dollyrots‘ first concert DVD & CD. 11 tracks. Arrested Youth Records.

“Going Away to College (Acoustic)” (2016). A cover of the 1999 song by Blink-182. Released as a digital single.

“Nothing With You (Acoustic)” (2016). A cover of the 2004 song by Descendents. The song was recorded for Kelly & Luis’s friends’ wedding.

“All I Want For Christmas Is You” (2016). A punky cover of Mariah Carey‘s 1994 Christmas classic. Released as a digital single.

Whiplash Splash (2017). 13 tracks. Arrested Youth Records. Choice cuts: “I Do”, “Just Because I’m Blonde”, “Jump Start This Heart”. Other awesome tracks: “Dance Like a Maniac”, “City of Angels”, “Mermaid”, “Babbling Idiot”, “Pack of Smokes”, “Squeeze Me”, “This Addiction”, “Saturday Morning”, “Mother Trucker”, “Walking On Sunshine”.

Note: “Walking On Sunshine” is a cover of the 1985 hit by Katrina and the Waves.

OK, so maybe it isn’t a “selected” discography!

Selected videos:

Band links: website/Facebook/Bandcamp

My thoughts… I have been a big fan of The Dollyrots ever since I first heard them in that Kohl’s commercial when it originally aired on television in 2007. I have since anticipated the release of every new album and have contributed to all of their crowd-funding campaigns. I even named one of my blogs after my favorite song by The Dollyrots! The song is “My Heart Explodes” in case you didn’t know!

Read my original post on RCR (here) and related posts on MHE (here).

2017 update… So, The Dollyrots have just released their 6th studio album Whiplash Splash. It’s the band’s 3rd studio album financed by fans – like me! – via PledgeMusic. Who needs major labels?! The Dollyrots‘ self-titled 1st fan-funded album – the first after parting ways with Joan Jett‘s Blackheart Records – was more poppy, while their 2nd fan-funded album Barefoot and Pregnant was more punky. Whiplash Splash is a little of both! The album delivers more of the catchy pop/punk that The Dollyrots do so well but sprinkles it with some retro-fresh sounds like the driving synths of the fantastic power ballad “Jump Start This Heart”. That song makes me feel like I’m back in high school making out with Mary Louise Tomaro in the back seat of my car at the local park while Foreigner‘s “Waiting For A Girl Like You” plays on my radio! Thanks for the memories! Oh, and my daughter Gaby and her friend Nadia got a kick out of “Just Because I’m Blonde”. We all love at the end of the song when Kelly changes the lyric from blonde to brunette, then adds “Just kidding!” Gaby’s a blonde. Nadia’s a brunette.

So, allow me to rank The Dollyrots‘ six studio albums for you! However, keep in mind that the difference between the albums at the top and bottom of my ranking is minimal because I think all of the band’s albums are awesome! Oh, and Whiplash Splash is still kind of fresh so its rank may change. Here’s how it stands…

  1. Barefoot and Pregnant (2014). I love the punkier sound! The funny thing is that I didn’t really like this album quite as much as I do now when I first listened to it! However, it kind of sneaked up on me a few weeks later!
  2. A Little Messed Up (2010). This one, of course, includes “My Heart Explodes” as well as a dozen other songs that sound like hits that never were but, in a perfect world, would’ve been!
  3. Whiplash Splash (2017). The jury’s still out but, for now, it’ll be here.
  4. Because I’m Awesome (2007). Because it’s awesome!
  5. The Dollyrots (2012). I don’t really like the 2012 version of “Because I’m Awesome”. It was perfect as it was!
  6. Eat Your Heart Out (2004).

OK, I’m ready for the next pledge campaign!

